Sagarmatha National Park

Everest Base Camp Trekking @ Mission Nepal Holidays

Sagarmatha National Park extends over an area of 1,148 square kilometers of the Himalayan ecological zone in Khumbu region of Nepal. The Park includes the upper catchments areas of the Dudhkoshi and Bhotehoshi Rivers and is largely composed of rugged terrain and gorges of the high Himalayas, ranging from 2,845m at Monjo to the top of the world’s highest peak- Sagarmatha at 8,848m above the sea level. Other peaks above 6,000m are Lhotse, Cho Oyu, Thamserku, Nuptse, Amadablam and Pumori. The famed Sherpa people, whose lives are interwoven with the teachings of Buddhism, live in the region. The renowned Tengboche and other monasteries are common gathering places to celebrate religious festivals such as Dumje and Mane Rumdu. Tengboche, Thame, Khumjung and Pangboche are some other famous monasteries of this region. For its superlative natural characteristics, UNESCO has enlisted SNP as a World Heritage Site in 1979.


Location Northern mountain of eastern Nepal
National Park Establishment 19 July 1976 (04 Shrawan, 2033)
National Park Area 1,148 Square Kilometers
IUCN Category II
World Heritage Site Declaration 1979  (UNESCO)
Buffer Zone Declaration 01 January, 2002  (17 Poush, 2058)
Buffer Zone Area 275 Square Kilometers
Buffer Zone Households 1,619
Buffer Zone Population 7,745
Major Ethnic Group Sherpa
Major Religion Buddhism
Major Glaciers Khumbu, Imja, Ngozumpa and Nangpa
Ramsar Site Gokyo and the associated wetlands
Major Rivers DudhKoshi, Bhotekoshi and ImjaKhola
Major Peaks Sagarmatha (8,848 m), Lhotse (8,501 m), Cho Oyu (8,153 m) and Nuptse (7,896 m)
Bioclimatic Zone Lower Temperate, Upper Temperate, Sub-alpine, Alpine and Nival
Climate Temperate to Arctic
Main Mammals Snow Leopard, Musk Deer and Red Panda
Major Trees Pine, Hemlock, Fir, Juniper and Birch
Annual Visitors 45,112 in the Fiscal Year 2016-2017 (Foreign Tourists Only)
Annual Revenue Rs. 14,39,56,605 (US $ Equivalent 1411340) in the Fiscal Year 2016-2017